The Twelve animals: An Interactive guide to the Chinese zodiac signs

Show full item record

Redirect: RIT Scholars content from RIT Digital Media Library has moved from to RIT Scholar Works, please update your feeds & links!
Title: The Twelve animals: An Interactive guide to the Chinese zodiac signs
Author: Chen, Yanzi
Abstract: The Chinese Zodiac signs are determined by the lunar year in which you were born. The Chinese believe the animal ruling one's birth year has a profound influence on personality, and destiny. Unlike Western astrology, which is based on the months of the year, the Chinese Zodiac,traditionally referred to as the Sheng Xiao, is based on a twelve-year cycle with each year represented by an animal. The twelve animals are: rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog, and pig. The Chinese Zodiac is found in several East Asian countries besides China. My thesis is an exploration in designing an interactive application that utilizes multimedia components to present the twelve Chinese Zodiac signs. This project will vividly explain the origin story behind the Chinese Zodiac and demonstrate the attributes of the twelve animal signs. It will also allow users to find out what animal sign they were born under and to discover how a person's birth sign can influence his/her personality, love life, career, lifestyle and health. This interactive application will essentially be a promotional and educational guide for people who want to learn about the Chinese Zodiac.
Record URI:
Date: 2011-05

Files in this item

Files Size Format View
YChenThesis5-2011.pdf 4.926Mb PDF View/Open

The following license files are associated with this item:

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show full item record

Search RIT DML

Advanced Search